Oatmeal Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Do you ever have one of those days where you clock in at work at 8a, and all of a sudden it’s quitting time? Today was one of those days, and since quitting time didn’t come until 6p, it’s safe to say I was exhausted when I finally made it home.

It’s also safe to say that I was craving cookies something fierce.

These two events are pretty standard in my life. I’m still trying to figure out if they are related. In any case, my cookie craving is pretty celebrated around these parts, since it generally results in delicious (slightly burnt or undercooked) desserts for my friends and family.

Oatmeal Coconut Chocolate Chip CookiesThat’s where these babies come in. Slightly burnt around the edges, but that just adds even more character to the exciting blend of coconut flakes, mini chocolate chips, and chewy oatmeal. I swear one of these days I will figure out how to properly bake things in my uneven oven.

After inhaling a quick dinner of sweet potato soup with spicy salsa and parmesan mixed in (newest obsession, by the way: putting salsa into everything), I took a quick survey of my cabinets and figured out that the only actual cookie mix-ins I had on hand were chocolate, oatmeal, and coconut. So that’s exactly what I googled, and the land of the internet provided me with the wonderful recipe below, courtesy of Pinch My Salt.

Like I mentioned before, my cookies came out a little bit more well done than they should have, but I’m willing to chalk that up to my crazy oven. Other than that, I followed the recipe almost exactly, aside from halving everything – I can’t be trusted with a kitchen full of 4 dozen cookies.

Cookie Dough! Just look at this dough though. Seriously. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t eat a scoop of this, raw eggs and all. I’d also be lying if I said I didn’t eat 1 (or 4) of the freshly browned cookies straight from the oven before I even took them off the pan to cool. That’s what kind of cookies these are.

Oatmeal Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies
Recipe Yield – about 2 dozen cookies

1/2 C butter, softened
1/2 C packed brown sugar
2 tbsp granulated sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 C all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 C rolled oats
1/2 C sweetened coconut
6 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350˚

1. Cream together butter and sugars until fluffy. Add in the egg and vanilla, and beat well.

2. Add in the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon and beat until combined.

3. Stir in oatmeal, coconut, and chocolate chips.

4. Drop dough by the spoonful onto greased baking sheets. Bake for 10-12 minutes.

5. Let cookies cool on the pan for about a minute, and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Recipe slightly adapted from Oatmeal Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies by Pinch My Salt

October 3, 2012. Food/Recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

