a few little things.

Oh, hi there! I’m Emily.

It’s so nice to meet you!

I’m glad you’ve stumbled upon my little corner of the world. I do hope you’ll stick around for a little while. We could be the best of friends!

But first, I should tell you a little bit about myself. Feel free to comment below, and share a bit about yourself, too. If there is one thing in this world that I love almost as much as eating peanut butter from the jar, it’s meeting new people.

My name is Emily and I am a wannabe blogger. I have lurked the internet for years, obsessively following foodblogs and subsequently dreaming of the day that I could trade in my 9-to-5 to bake serious cupcakes to share with the world. I suppose the first step in that would be to actually start a blog – hence, Cranberry Bubbles.

Hopefully, this blog will be about more than baking. As much as I dream of one day baking the perfect chocolate chip cookie, (seriously, can someone tell me how to get a cookie to crisp up on the edges and stay soft in the center?) there is quite a bit more to my life than sugar and butter. And while sometimes I wish I could delete everything and live in a world of desserts, I think it’s fair to say that baking is just one of the many little joys that help me survive the somewhat organized chaos of my early 20s.

If you really want to get to know me, I think it’s the little things you should learn first:

1) I love making lists. I do it often. Every day. Grocery lists, to-do lists, ingredient lists – I find it hard to understand my world unless it is numbered.

2) I am quite possibly the most impatient person on this planet. Like, can’t wait the 5 minutes for chocolate chips to melt on the stove without pouting and making my boyfriend take over impatient.

3) I am a fake vegetarian. Or, more accurately, I am always assumed to be a vegetarian, when the truth is really that  I could probably only be a vegetarian if I stopped being in love with bacon so much. I do have an affinity for red bell peppers and every fruit I can get my hands on, though, and I tend to stick with basic meals made of these ingredients (and hot sauce. on everything.) Just because I don’t dig steak every day doesn’t mean I don’t eat red meat!

4) I am a font snob. Seriously, comic sans?

5) I am not the most logical person you will ever meet. In fact, I’m generally not that logical at all. I’m what you might call an emotionalist. (Yes, that’s a word!)

6) I love everything. Specifically, I love: laughing until my eyes water; listening to quiet music while wrapped in a blanket on rainy days; reading novels that make me think or act or both; when you catch a stranger’s eye on the street and you both smile; unexpected sales at the grocery store; sidewalk chalk hopscotch; the smell of clean laundry and lemons (separately, although I suppose there are worst combinations); moments that are humbling; the feel of the first cool autumn day (for those of you in New England, you know what’s up!); vanilla coffee; interesting front doors; connecting with someone you never thought you’d share a commonality with; anything involving cranberry; blowing bubbles in the sunshine.
That should about cover it in the category of essential things to know. Oh, and one last thing:

You have met me at a weird time in my life. Mostly, because I’ve just realized that I don’t know a thing about anything, and partly because I’ve just decided I’m okay with it (most of the time). I’m going to do my best to navigate the rest of my life, but I highly doubt it will be smooth sailing. I’ll probably end up telling you about a lot of things that happen: recipe disasters and workplace lessons and fashion faux pas.

I’m really excited to have you as a new friend, to share in these little moments. After all, it’s the little things that help us survive in this big picture of a world.

September 25, 2012. tidbits.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

